Town of Sheldon 
A Right to Farm Community
Your Subtitle text
Varysburg Water Customers: 
Payments may be mailed to:  Varysburg Water District, PO Box 613, Varysburg, NY 14167
If you would like to pay your water bill with a credit card, please call 585-535-7644 during Town Clerk office hours:  Tuesday 5-7pm, Wednesday 12-7:30pm, Thursday 5-7pm.  There is a fee for credit card payments. $1.75 will be added to transactions under $64 and 2.75% will be added to transactions $64 and above.

Water reports:

Click here to read part 1 of the 2018 water report

Click here to read part 2 of the 2018 water report

Sheldon Wind Project

Emergency Hotline:  1-866-378-4580

Timeline of the High Sheldon Wind Project:

2001 - The Sheldon Town Board was approached by NY Power to erect a test tower.  At this time the Town Board began working on a wind energy law. 
January 2003 - Wind Energy Law passed by the Sheldon Town Board
2003 - Invenergy LLC approaced the Town Board about the High Sheldon Wind Project
April 2007 - The wind turbines were approved for erection
November 2007 - The first wind project payment was received from Invenergy in the amount of $752,000
July 2008 - Ground is broken on the first wind turbine site
March 2009 - Turbines go into energy production

Turbines & Tax Base:  The Sheldon Town Board has not levied any Town taxes since 2007.  Revenue received from the Wind Project has covered all costs of the yearly Town budget.  

Windmill payments from Invenergy LLC to Town of Sheldon as of December 20, 2012:
Payments to Town General Fund:  $8,373,378.03
Payment to Town for Road agreement:  $454,000.00
Payment to refurbish the Strykersville School Museum:  $95,000.00
Payment for installation of a walking path & basketball court at the Town park:  $18,500.00
Payment for erection of new cemetery walls at Town cemeteries:  $20,000.00
Total as of 11/1/2018:  $9,897,868.13

Wind Turbine Law - 2003

Host Community Agreement

Fire Companies
Sheldon Fire Department
996 Centerline Rd.
Strykersville, NY 14145

2019 Officers:  
President:  Mike Calteaux
Vice President: Rick Brzezicki Sr. 
Secretary:  Laurel Perl
Asst. Secretary:  Rick Brzezicki Jr.
Treasurer:  Ron George
Assistant Treasurer:  Rick Brzezicki Jr.
Chief:  Francis George
1st Assist Chief:  Laurel Perl
2nd Assist Chief:  Tyler Brzezicki
Directors:  Chris George, Dan Henneberger, Charlie Perl, Jerry Schwab, Ken Martin, Earl Bartz
Fire Dept. meetings:  First Tuesday of each month at 7pm

Strykersville Fire Department
594 Minkel Rd.
PO Box 38 
Strykersville, NY 14145

2019 Officers:
President:  Andrew Hope
Vice President:  Vickie Reisdorf
Secretary:  Mary Gibson
Treasurer:  Russell Reisdorf
Chief:  Dustin Colkitt
1st Assistant Chief:  Eric Kirsch
2nd Assistant Chief:  Randy Reisdorf  
3rd Assistant Chief:  Julia Elge
Rescue Squad Captain:  Crystal Radecki
Rescue Squad Lt.:  John Green
Squad Sec.:  Bill Streicher
Directors:  William Perl, Duane Reisdorf, Bob Conroy
To rent the Strykersville Fire Hall, contact Jen Reisdorf at 716-457-9410.  
Meetings are held the first Monday of the month.  Rescue squad at 7:30 p.m. and Fire Company at 8:00 p.m.

Varysburg Fire Department
2446 Main St., Route 20A
Varysburg, NY 14167
2018 Officers:
President:  Bob DeFedericis
Vice President:  Thomas Beglinger
Secretary:  Sue Rogacki
Treasurer:  James Kelly
Assistant Treasurer:  Mary Lou Knaggs
Chief:  James Kelly
1st Assistant Chief:  Adam Vetter
2nd Assistant Chief:  Thomas Beglinger
Captain:  Jeff Rogacki
Fire Police Captain:  Patrick Almeter
Lieutenant:  Austin Skawienski
Fire Police Captain:  Patrick Almeter
Rescue Squad Captain: Deb McCarty
Rescue Squad Lieutenant:  Sue Rogacki
Wyoming County Delegates:  TBA
Elected Director 2018-2020:  Leonard Knaggs

2018 Dates for Varysburg Fire District Meetings
Len Knaggs, District Secretary/Treasurer
Second Tuesday of each month at 7:00 p.m.
February 13
March 13
April 10
May 8
June 12
July 10
August 14
September 11
October 9
November 13
December 11
January 8, 2019 (organizational meeting)

Harris Corners Fire Department
Corner of Folsomdale Rd. & Route 20A
Strykersville, NY 14145
2019 Officers:
President:  Nicholas Kirsch
Vice President:  Phil George
Secretary:  Ann Metz
Treasurer:  Ronald Janish
Chief:  Ed Mest
1st Assistant Chief:  Dave Lathrop
2nd Assistant Chief:  Jeff Ripstein
Rescue Squad Captain:  Tom Keem
Rescue Squad Lieutenant:  Jim Germain
Safety Officer:  Joe Lawton
Fire Police Captain:  Marv Ellis
Training Officer:  Ron Barvian
Trustees: Troy Hubbard, Alan Metz, Chris Mest, Steven Metz, Earl Mest

North Java Fire Department
4274 Route 98
North Java, NY 14113
Visit the North Java Fire Dept. website
2017 Officers:
President:  Joseph Siler
Secretary:  Meghan George-Baker
Treasurer:  Douglas George
Bldg #1:  Wendy Russell (please call Wendy to rent hall at 585-409-5303)
Chief:  Mason Meyer
1st Asst Chief:  Brian Boorman
2nd Asst Chief:  Michael Kozlowski
3rd Asst Chief:  Jeremy Boorman
Captain:  Constance Almeter
1st Lt:  Mary Siler
2nd Lt:  Theresa Hopkins